Let’s get some reaction!

Reaction

A Poem by A. Aaron

A moment of ethnic reflection

Lead me to the realization that there is no protection

No protection for those who share my hue and tone

Those who are deemed black from head to toe and skin and bone

No protection from what seemed to be a slow and premeditated demise

It was all to blatant, apparent and wore no disguise

Under the premise or of studies and research

It towered over my people bigger than Lurch

I have to lay claim otherwise it a dismissal of self

Why do such a thing that’s done by everyone else

A systematic degradation a devaluing of our purpose

Looking at us as a whole as nothing more than surplus

Excessive in quantity and low in demand

Why do we even yet feel the sting of the world’s back hand

At this moment of pondering I became enraged

Realizing for 36 years of life I have been disengaged

Reading from a book that read the same on every page

Inside of me it seemed a war had been waged

Subjective victimization of my people as a whole

Like the sinners in hell there was a fire set to my soul

Burning with eagerness to speak, be heard, do and react

We owe it to ourselves, let us make good on the debt.

After all the thoughts my head and my heart were it aligned and in tact

And left me with one word, one vision, one mission REACT

 

One Response to “Let’s get some reaction!”

  1. OK THANK GOD SOMEONE HAS SAID IT WE ARE A TARGET FOR PLAY AND WE ARE BEING BLINDED BY THE WORLD TRYING TO SURVIVE INSTEAD OF LIVING UP TO WHO WE ARE AS A WHOLE WE ARE NOT JUST PEOPLE WE ARE A NATION COME ON PEOPLE REACT!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

